I Have Today

Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending. – Marie Robinson

Even if you cannot change your past, everyday is an opportunity for you to change how to carry forward the past, what you make of it, and how you let it affect yourself. Those opportunities could be just as good towards changing your future.

 And today is the day to do it. The achievements of a lifetime are reached one day, one moment, one effort at a time. It is the consistency of effort and habits that move us closer to success.

It is hard to try to make sure one gets the best out of everyday. I realize that it is impossible to live every minute with organization and focus. But days easily blend into weeks, months, and years so quickly and we miss out. Just like that, almost 6 months of the year are gone already. As time passes, I want to make sure I can reflect back on each day with satisfaction and without regret, with happiness enjoyed and challenges conquered. For the sake of my future self, I try to ask myself some important questions everyday:

  • What was good about today? Did I celebrate it?
  • Was there a mistake that I can reflect on and never repeat after today?
  • What happened that did not make me feel good? Why and what can I do about it?
  • Do I have a plan to follow that I can still feel good about for my future?
  • What did I do to act on that plan today?
  • Was I sincere, kind, and good to myself and other people?
  • Did I learn something new?

Try using a journal and documenting some of your answers. I only started keeping a journal a few years ago and do not manage to do it everyday. But I can confirm that it makes a wonderful difference. I reflect on these thoughts, not every question for everyday but the more I do it, the better I can keep on track. This reflection is also a great tool against depression or starting at the greener grass on the other side of the fence.

I will leave you with the reminder my phone gives me every time I use it, in the form of a background picture:

Do something today that your future self will thank you for.

Click here to see more from the quotes collection.

Author: Matters of Living

I am exploring the world of blogging to find and share inspiration and insight on living life as best as possible.

4 thoughts on “I Have Today”

Leave a Reply

