Live Your Values

​It always seemed strange to me that the things we admire in men, kindness and generosity, openness, honesty, understanding and feeling are the concomitants of failure in our system. And those traits we detest, sharpness, greed, acquisitiveness, meanness, egotism and self interest are the traits of success. And while men admire the quality of the first, they love the produce of the second.
– John Steinbeck

The right values can lead us to success too. It might be the harder and longer route but it also comes with self respect and peace of mind that can never come from compromising your values.

Stuck in the politics of career advancement, I have found the traits this quote identified as detestable, indeed detestable. They make for unpleasant relationships and environments. I must do my best to keep my behaviour correct, positively influence others, and choose my role models carefully. It can be so easy to be influenced.

My 1 year blog anniversary is the perfect occasion to remind myself what I stand for. One of my favourite parts of this blog so far is the growing collection of quotes that serve as a good reminder.

What about YOU? How do you make sure that you never lose sight of the right values in your journey to success? How do you handle it when others play games with you?

Have more to say? Join the conversation on Facebook.

Author: Matters of Living

I am exploring the world of blogging to find and share inspiration and insight on living life as best as possible.

20 thoughts on “Live Your Values”

  1. happy anniversary! love the quotation, I had never come across it before. I totally agree with you. Having good, ethical values always seems like the tougher route these days but for me, it’s the only way to live life.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the message of this post. It’s pretty interesting how we’ve come to define success as a culture (money, power, status), especially when there is so much wisdom (both old and new) that basically tells us that kind of success isn’t actually fulfilling in the long run. That being said, it takes a lot of courage to go against the crowd and follow your own definition of success, and it’s great to hear you are taking that path.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

