What I Know for Sure

Is there any fact of life that you would have the comfort of knowing as certainly true? I recently read the book called What I Know for Sure by Oprah Winfrey. Naturally, right from the cover of the book, I put the question to myself: if anything, what would I say I did know for sure? After some thought, I realized that there were some facets of life that I would bet my bottom dollar on.

So, I decided it would be enlightening for me to make a list to acknowledge and use them. This list is a mix of my own ideas as well as quotations from the book that I just could not disagree with.

I KNOW FOR SURE THAT …

  • “There is one irrefutable law of the universe: We are each responsible for our own life. If you are holding anyone else accountable for your happiness, you are wasting your time.”
  • Life here is finite. I need to live keeping that in mind and make the most of it. This means that I need to do what I want to do now and I should explore what will lie beyond this life.
  • I can be more than I am today and while I may not be sprinting to it always, I have faith in myself that I will never stop reaching for it.
  • “There is no strength without challenge, adversity, resistance, and often pain. The problems that make you want to throw up your hands and holler, “Mercy!” will build your tenacity, courage, discipline, and determination.”
  • Being good to others and helping them is the right thing to do. It makes me happy and empowers me. I gain nothing by hurting them.
  • It is what is on the inside that matters, deeper than race and appearance, and keeping this fact in mind will lead me to my own better self and better people in my life.
  • There is much more that I don’t know than the knowledge I have so I want to always keep learning.
  • “I don’t want to live a shutdown life – desensitized to feeling and seeing. I want everyday to be a fresh start on expanding what is possible. On experiencing joy on every level.”
  • “When you remove the fear, the answer you have been searching for should come into focus. And as you walk into what you fear, you should know for sure that your deepest struggle can, if you are willing and open, produce your greatest strength.”
  • Love is not perfect but combined with the right principles and determination, it has the power to be strong and righteous, and do much good.
  • I can have faith in some relationships that will support me through all my righteous efforts and tell me when I am wrong because that is best for me.
  • “We all need the kinds of relationships that enrich and sustain us. But it’s also true that if you’re looking for someone to heal and complete you – to shush that voice inside you that has always whispered ‘You’re not worth anything’ – you are wasting your time. Why? Because if you don’t already know that you have worth, there’s nothing your friends, your family, or your mate can say that will completely convince you of that.”

This exercise gave me a new appreciation for these truths that greatly impact my life and the realization that I do not make the most of their awareness. I also had fun making this list. How would you answer this question? Do you particularly agree or disagree with any of the ideas in this post? What would you say you do know for sure? Please share in the comments below.

Looking for more reading recommendations: check out my fiction and non-fiction lists.

Image: http://www.uptownmagazine.com/2014/03/oprah-winfrey-release-book-know-sure-columns/

Author: Matters of Living

I am exploring the world of blogging to find and share inspiration and insight on living life as best as possible.

2 thoughts on “What I Know for Sure”

  1. I subscribe to this magazine because I love her and she always makes me think. It is a rarity in magazine land. I always feel like the minute I know something for sure, then I am usually wrong. There have been so many things I thought for sure were true and then have been burned by the exceptions, ya know? The big stuff like, God is good, love is nice, and death is inevitable are really all I can claim…lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

