Recipe: My New Power Breakfast

Going free of wheat, dairy and eggs has made breakfast more difficult for me to figure out than any other meal of the day. And that struggle led me to discovering what is now my favourite breakfast! It is easy, nutritious, tasty, and filling. It was recommended by my naturopath and she was proud of how well I had taken to it. 

Sweet Potato Toast and Avocado

Ingredients
1 sweet potato
1 avocado
1 teaspoon salt

Preparation Time: less than 10 minutes

Cooking Time: 30 minutes

Directions

  • Peel the sweet potato and cut into small slices that are about half a centimeter thick.
  • Spread the slices in a toaster oven for 15 minutes. I like to see that they are softening and their surface is darkening nicely. Flip them over and give them another 15 minutes so that the surface on the other side cooks just as well. Personally, I do not enjoy leaving it with a mushy texture. Pierce with a fork to make sure the sweet potato is completely cooked through. For work, I prepare these the night before and microwave them in the morning to save time.
  • Cut an avocado into slices. I generally have to leave the light green avocados from the grocery store at room temperature for two to three days to ripen to the perfect texture. They should be creamy but not too ripe so that the slices will hold their shape. I used to have a really hard time getting that timing right.
  • Spread the sweet potato slices on a plate and top them with the avocado slices. Sprinkle the salt on top and also, if you like, some lemon juice or black pepper for extra flavour.

That’s it. Quick, easy and delicious. I pair it with a nice cup of coffee for a perfect, comforting morning breakfast. With just two simple ingredients, I get a lot of nutrition and good energy to get me through the day.

Image: http://littlebitsof.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/sweet-potato-toast-4.png

Author: Matters of Living

I am exploring the world of blogging to find and share inspiration and insight on living life as best as possible.

14 thoughts on “Recipe: My New Power Breakfast”

  1. Sounds good, I’ll have to try it out! Currently, I have oatmeal (cooked with water) with ground flaxseed, peanut butter (no oil), and maple syrup (no HFCS or corn syrup) every morning. Leaves me satisfied for hours and delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I bought some oats to try healthy recipes. I used to cook it with milk but I am on a no dairy regime currently due to allergies. the idea of peanut butter sounds amazing. do you have a recipe I could use to try this? let me know if you try my breakfast and how you like it

      Like

      1. So I tried this today and it was just as expected – really awesome! (The only thing I struggled with was cutting the sweet potatoes with my crappy knife :D) Thanks for sharing!

        Like

        1. Yes! It is hard to cut for sure. But with practice the prep process has gotten smoother and more enjoyable. It took me time to learn that since cooking food was not my forte. I am so glad you tried and liked. Thank you for your feedback!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. You’re welcome! Yeah cooking can sure be challenging at times but just as everything else, it gets better with practice. And I think home-made dishes are the best (if we know what we’re doing, of course :D)

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

