Resolve for a Successful New Year

It is that time of year again! Many of us are setting goals and pursuing them with more fervor than we have in any other month. Lines at healthy food places are longer. Gym attendance improves. Everyone is working harder than ever on goals whether they are personal, professional, health or new life experiences. Here are 10 tips that I put together to improve the chances for meeting targets and not losing steam by February:

  1. Create accountability. Once you set the goals, then you must write them down, share with someone, or draw your future. It is even better if you can post them up on a wall (real or virtual) where you will see them at least once a day.
  2. Do something everyday that your future self will thank you for. Daily focus is important for anything you want to change in your life. The time to change it is now!
  3. Check back with your goals and the progress frequently. Weekly or monthly at minimum. Otherwise, time will just fly by and, before you realize, it will be time to set goals for 2018.
  4. Visualize your actions and the end result. You have a free passport to daydream! Doing this in more detail will make it easier to act on it and stay motivated because you want the reward.
  5. Find out what motivates you and use it to your advantage. Check out my earlier post for ideas I put together from what works best to motivate myself.
  6. Listen to yourself. If you have set the goal but are having a hard time, take a break and reflect on what is stopping you. If you understand yourself better, it will be easier to set up the path to success and remove obstacles. I am working on my biggest fears, distractions, and missing resources.
  7. Break them down. For big projects or lifestyle changes, break it down into mini-goals that are more approachable and set shorter deadlines between 1 to 3 months.
  8. Set dedicated time. Depending on what a goal needs, set aside specific time to spend just on that – an hour or a day. To work on my organization skills, I am trying to commit 35 minutes a day, everyday, to keeping things neat and not letting the messes grow, but instead reducing them over time.
  9. Cultivate good habits like your day is incomplete without them. I have noticed how much has changed in my day-to-day habits over the years. Some for better and some not so great. There are things I do easily now that seemed too much work before. They say it takes 3 weeks of daily diligence to make a new habit or break an old one.
  10. You can take the easy or lazy way. Find strategic loopholes (as long as they are ethical). Social media is filled with “lazy people hacks”. A lot of them might seem pretty crazy but if you sort through them, there are some great ideas out there. You can experiment with different ways till you find a method you can maintain.

These are the points that I found most valuable and I am going to keep them in mind as I continue to work on my goals. I have not set any new year’s resolutions but I am renewing the resolve to keep working on the 30 before 30 goals that I set 3 months ago. I still have 2 years and 9 months to work on them.

What are your key goals for the new year and how are you going to set yourself up for success? If you have done a post on this in honour of 2017, leave a link below. It is wonderful to share these ideas and find like-minded attitudes and motivation.

Author: Matters of Living

I am exploring the world of blogging to find and share inspiration and insight on living life as best as possible.

6 thoughts on “Resolve for a Successful New Year”

    1. thanks. that is a good way to do it. my to do list is a rolling one. if not done, it stays on the list till I do it. sometimes a little guilt can built up for very old items though but giving up is not an option. let me know how it works out for you

      Like

Leave a Reply

