Boredom is a State of Mind…

I have drawn the conclusion that this statement is applicable to many things in my life. I have focused my time and perspective on rediscovering the things I need to do or have always chosen to do without much consideration. I did not realize how much I missed. Simple example: yes, chores seem tedious and boring. But it is important for me to create an environment around myself that is pleasant and I want to put in the time for it. I will leave you with a few quotes from the article that inspired this post.

Don’t wait for the muse. As I’ve said, he’s a hardheaded guy who’s not susceptible to a lot of creative fluttering. This isn’t the Ouija board or the spirit-world we’re talking about here, but just another job like laying pipe or driving long-haul trucks. Your job is to make sure the muse knows where you’re going to be every day from nine ’til noon. or seven ’til three. If he does know, I assure you that sooner or later he’ll start showing up.
     – Stephen King in On Writing

This is the other secret that real artists know and wannabe writers don’t. When we sit down each day and do our work, power concentrates around us. The Muse takes note of our dedication. She approves. We have earned favor in her sight. When we sit down and work, we become like a magnetized rod that attracts iron filings. Ideas come. Insights accrete.
     – Steven Pressfield in The War of Art

Just as there is a muse for creativity, there is also a muse for curiosity. When you’re exploring your world, there is a mystic force that shows up to fill your encounters with excitement. But, just like the muse of creative people shows up only after they start creating, the muse of curious people only shows up only after they start searching. If you’re waiting on the muse to make you interested in things, it simply isn’t going to come. You have to summon it.

zz-boredom02

For the full article by Douglas Rice, click here.

Image: http://www.internetmonk.com/archive/the-blessings-of-boredom

Author: Matters of Living

I am exploring the world of blogging to find and share inspiration and insight on living life as best as possible.

3 thoughts on “Boredom is a State of Mind…”

Leave a Reply

