Lessons from a Stormy August

My last post was on August 4 so I have drifted from my personal goal of 2 posts a week. It has absolutely been one of the roughest months of my life (with some spill over into September that I am sadly still struggling with). I am hoping to be over these hurdles soon. I decided to be a little optimistic and walk away from these struggles with some reflection and lessons learned. It is easy to come up with motivational talk in my optimistic moments but my challenges, experience, determination, and frustration – the best and worst of me – all come from the worst moments. I pushed myself to capture one of those moments in my Success and Wellness journal (check out my previous post on this effort). And it worked! I went from being too miserable to thinking more clearly and venting out my feelings on the keyboard. 1,153 words later, I had stopped moping and worked through the ideas rolling in my head with some sense of reason.

So, I followed up with my journal to create this reflection post. Here is a summary of the takeaways from my struggles:

  1. In business and relations gone sour, it is hard to find the right balance between kindness, my principle, and self protection, my right. Even my heart and my instinct are confused between being nice and feeling afraid.
  2. The legal system is vast and complex but it is important for me to understand. It encompasses rules and concepts that affect every part of my life. On the other hand, I have dropped any aspiration I had for entering the profession of law because I cannot handle their style of reading and writing.
  3. Genuine communication is very important for relationships but it is difficult to force it when the parties involved are unwilling.
  4. Throughout my life, I will encounter many situations and people to raise questions or object to the way I am but that does not make me wrong. It is up to me to decide and I must be open to feedback for self assessment. If I am wrong, I can improve and, if I am right, I can know myself better and act without regrets.
  5. In difficult situations, I need to find dependable sources of comfort and reassurance inside myself. If there is one thing I have learned about myself, it is that I always put myself on an emotional rollercoaster. When good things happen, I am very happy and, when things are not going well, I take it very hard.
  6. Patience is a virtuous habit that I really need to work on. My tendency to overreact paired with the impatience to get out of unpleasant circumstances as soon as possible is not the best approach to problem solving.
  7. I need to work on my focus and memory. Multitasking is quite unproductive when it comes to listening attentively. So, I have to maintain a good balance between whatever is whirling around in my head (which is non-stop) and interacting successfully with people around me.
  8. On the point of interaction, my communication skills are better than ever but they need to keep evolving. I want to be more impactful and impressive with my verbal communication and presentation. For a long time, I have been considering doing a speech course to help with this and I just need to go for it! With every life situation, I see so much benefit in developing this quality in myself.
  9. I am always looking too far ahead in life to get things done. The time to do them is now! Long-term plans are good but it is important to break them down into actionable short-term tasks to make them more doable and hold myself accountable.
  10. It does not matter how bad my state of mind is. Writing is still possible for me. That is something I am proud I have developed over the last few years. I should not fight it but try to encourage it instead even in a bad mood. I get some writing out of it plus the scribbles really help to improve the state of mind. I have always come out of a writing session feeling better than I did when I started it on good days and bad days. See, I did not think this list was going to end up being this long. It turns out that there was more good hidden in my recent bad experiences than I was willing to realize before.

Now it is your turn. What have been the challenges of the toughest struggle in your life? How did you get through it and what did you learn in that process? All’s well that ends well?

Image: http://weknowyourdreams.com/storm.html

Author: Matters of Living

I am exploring the world of blogging to find and share inspiration and insight on living life as best as possible.

Leave a Reply

